St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated on March 17, the saint’s religious feast day and the anniversary of his death in the fifth century. The Irish have observed this day as a religious holiday for over 1,000 years. On St. Patrick’s Day, which falls during the Christian season of Lent, Irish families would traditionally attend church in the morning and celebrate in the afternoon. Lenten prohibitions against the consumption of meat were waived and people would dance, drink and feast–on the traditional meal of Irish bacon and cabbage.

http://www.history.com/topics/st-patricks-day

This year I will be working on Saint Patrick’s day, but I will still be preparing our traditional meal of Corned Beef, Cabbage, Turnip, Onion, Potatoes, and Carrots. đŸ™‚ My mom used to make it for us every year growing up and now I’m making it for Jessica and her family. Its one of my favorite things to make! I was hoping to be able to make some Irish Soda Bread to go with it, but I’m not sure if it will happen or not. Either way it will be a good meal.

Figured I would share how I prepare it:

Start with Corned Beef Brisket (or any cut you choose)
Most will come with a season packet, set this aside for a little later.

I usually put mine into a crock pot, but you could use a covered dish in the oven if you chose.

Set the roast into the crock pot and pour 1 cup of water over it and a splash of white vinegar. (This will help cut down on the saltiness of the meat)
Next pour the spice packet over the roast, or whatever spices you wish to add.

The next will depend on how many people you’re feeding:

Peel and cut several carrots into inch pieces (I usually don’t do super small pieces, they tend to fall apart)
Wash and cut several turnips into quarters (I usually do 3 or 4 small ones)
Peel and cut several potatoes into quarters
Cut one yellow onion into quarters (I use a medium sized one)
Wash and cut 1 cabbage in half. Cut one half into slices (I generally only use one half of the cabbage, this can change depending on how many you are feeding)

Next place all vegetables into the crock pot with the roast.

Cook on low heat for 6-8 hours. Serve and enjoy!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone!

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

